We use cookies from third-party services to help us improve our website.

Autumn String Quartet

Saturday 14 September 2024 - Wednesday 2 October 2024

With music chosen by Sinfonia Cymru violinist Anna Tulchinskaya, this programme is characterised by light and dark, friendship and loss. Shostakovich’s 11th quartet was dedicated to his friend who passed away just before it was composed. Unsurprisingly, the music is coloured by a heavy sense of anguish, and self-reflections on friendship and loneliness. Light is provided by Haydn’s 4th quartet, nicknamed the Sunrise quartet, for its beautiful rising melody in the violin, and by Florence Price’s Summer Moon, dedicated to Price’s friend, the jazz musician Memry Midgett. Join us as Anna and her fellow under-30s musicians and friends perform this lush programme for string quartet.

Musicians: Anna Tulchinskaya (violin), Haim Choi (violin), Isobel Neary-Adams
(viola), William Clark-Maxwell (cello).


  1. Joseph Haydn String Quartet No 4 ‘The Sunrise Quartet’ in B flat major, Opus 76
  2. Dmitri Shostakovich String Quartet No 11 in F minor, Opus 122
  3. Florence Price, arranged for string quartet by W. Newell Summer Moon

Support Sinfonia Cymru

Donate now to give young musicians the very best start to their professional careers.

Find out more