We use cookies from third-party services to help us improve our website.
Digital performance

Curate – Two Nations Tango

Published Tuesday 31 August 2021

Curated by Gideon Brooks

Celebrating Wales’ link with South America, Sinfonia Cymru presents a unique ensemble: violin, cello, double bass, trumpet and piano. This is an exploration of tango music and the traditional music of Wales as you’ve never heard them before. Featuring music by Argentine tango composer Piazzolla and a compilation of Welsh folk tunes with a twist. 

We are grateful to The Radcliffe Trust, Garrick Charitable Trust and Idlewild Trust for their support of the Curate series.


  1. Gideon Brooks Trumpet
  2. Roberto Ruisi Violin
  3. Waynne Kwon Cello
  4. Elen Roberts Double Bass
  5. Harry Piano
  6. Astor Piazzolla, arr. Gideon Brooks La Muerte del Angel
  7. Carlos Gardel, arr. Gideon Brooks Por Una Cabeza
  8. Rene Griffiths, arr. Gideon Brooks Heno Mae'n Bwrw Bwrw
  9. Trad, arr. Gideon Brooks Two Nations' Tango

Support Sinfonia Cymru

Donate now to give young musicians the very best start to their professional careers.

Find out more